Number of States Included in Quarantine list Goes Up in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut

Number of States Included in Quarantine list Goes Up in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut have added three more states to their quarantine list, requiring travelers to isolate for 14 days. This brings the number of states included in the ban to a total of 19.  

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The states on the list are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansa, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.

Travelers flying from states under the travel ban must provide a location form stating where they are coming from and where they plan on going before they leave the airport. Forms will be handed out on the plane.

In the state of New York all airports will collect contact forms. A traveler who leaves the airport without providing the information will receive a summons immediately and a $2,000 fine. The traveler will also be brought to a hearing in order to complete mandatory quarantine.

The quarantine rules apply to anyone who travels by train, bus, car, plane and any other method of transportation. The self-quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected.

The advisory does not apply to people passing through designated sates for limited duration travel. Some examples include rest stops, layovers, train or bus travel.

The travel quarantine applies to everyone, even New Yorkers arriving home.

Board of Regents Meets on Substantial Equivalency
  • Jul 13 2020
  • |
  • 12:51 PM

New York State Regents Board Sets Rules for Re-Opening Schools
  • Jul 13 2020
  • |
  • 11:22 AM

Be in the know

receive BoroPark24’s news & updates on whatsapp

 Start Now